In-Private Browsing

Most modern browsers have an "In-Private Browsing" feature. In-Private Browsing helps prevent your browsing history, temporary Internet files, form data, cookies, user names and passwords from being saved.

In-Private browsing is the easiest was to avoid leaving traces of your browsing on your computer.


Internet Explorer

You can start In-Private Browsing from the Safety menu, by pressing Ctrl+Shift+P, or from the New Tab page.

See here for more information.


Google Chrome

In-Private browsing is called "Incognito mode" in Google Chrome.

  1. Click the Chrome menu Chrome menu on the browser toolbar.
  2. Select New incognito window.
  3. A new window will open with the incognito icon incognito icon in the corner.

See here for more information.


Apple Safari

See here for more information.


Firefox

See here for more information.


iOS

  1. Open Safari on your iPhone/iPad
  2. Tap on the tab icon (bottom left). This shows you the tabs that are open (in the new rolodex style)
  3. On the bottom-right, you should see a text ‘Private’
  4. Tap on this and Safari will ask you if you want to keep the tabs or close them all.
  5. Keep All to continue browsing (but in private mode). Alternatively, you can also close the tabs.
  6. To disable private browsing mode: follow the steps again and tap on Private. You will notice that the dark-colored theme of Safari changes to the normal one. That’s the indication that you have disabled private browsing mode.

See here for more information.


Android

See here for more information.